Print Page | Close Window

Scheduled Server Maintenance

Printed From: Illyriad
Category: News & Announcements
Forum Name: News & Announcements
Forum Description: Changes, patch release dates, server launch dates, downtime notifications etc.
URL: http://forum.illyriad.co.uk/forum_posts.asp?TID=11016
Printed Date: 24 Apr 2024 at 11:23
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Scheduled Server Maintenance
Posted By: GM Stormcrow
Subject: Scheduled Server Maintenance
Date Posted: 24 Jul 2023 at 18:12
Hi everyone,

We need to perform some necessary server maintenance and patching.

Illyriad will be OFFLINE, starting:

WEDS 26JUL23 at 0200 UTC+0 (Server time)

For reference, this is:

WEDS 26JUL23 at 0300 BST (Current UK)
WEDS 26JUL23 at 0400 DST (Current Mainland Europe)
TUES 25JUL23 at 2200 EDT (Current US East Coast)
TUES 25JUL23 at 1900 PDT (Current US West Coast)

We expect downtime to last at least 2 hours, but it may be longer - depending on how well the server digests the patches.

The forums will remain up during this maintenance period, and we will let you know how we're getting along in the forum, if the time needs to be extended.

Thanks for your patience and understanding.

Regards,

SC



Replies:
Posted By: Wartow
Date Posted: 25 Jul 2023 at 14:11
I blame elves.

-------------


Posted By: GM Stormcrow
Date Posted: 26 Jul 2023 at 04:25
And we're back. 

Thank you for your patience.


Posted By: GM Stormcrow
Date Posted: 26 Jul 2023 at 04:43
All went smoothly, although the server did report a degradation on one of the SSDs.  For anyone technically minded, they're in a RAID array.  A new drive has been ordered and should hopefully be switched in without any further downtime, but we will keep you posted.

Thanks, again, for your patience.


Posted By: Rill
Date Posted: 26 Jul 2023 at 05:29
I've always said that RAID is useless. Have you tried using an Elite configuration?


Posted By: Hopper
Date Posted: 26 Jul 2023 at 11:02
Gratz!

About backups and configs, when I was somewhat in charge, I had the habit to organize exercises of restoration from the backups.
It proved fairly useful, when some backups revealed unuable.

I'd consider it very reasonable if Illyriad went into exercise evry 6/12th month...

Enjoy Illy,

Ada/Ibn


-------------
aka ibn(whatever), or computer science developers…


Posted By: GM Stormcrow
Date Posted: 26 Jul 2023 at 12:26
Originally posted by Rill Rill wrote:

I've always said that RAID is useless. Have you tried using an Elite configuration?
LOL


Posted By: Wartow
Date Posted: 27 Jul 2023 at 18:01
Time to go to UNIX.

-------------



Print Page | Close Window

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2019 Web Wiz Ltd. - https://www.webwiz.net