Print Page | Close Window

What do the rules say about "The 10 Square Rule"?

Printed From: Illyriad
Category: Strategies, Guides & Help
Forum Name: General Questions
Forum Description: If your gameplay question isn't answered in the help files, please post it here.
URL: http://forum.illyriad.co.uk/forum_posts.asp?TID=6437
Printed Date: 22 Oct 2018 at 17:38
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 11.10 - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: What do the rules say about "The 10 Square Rule"?
Posted By: GM Rikoo
Subject: What do the rules say about "The 10 Square Rule"?
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2015 at 18:24
In an effort to educate new players about the 10-square "RULE", I would like to restate what the actual game mechanics say and do. Most players I know do not try to exploit new players by lying to them about what the mechanics do, but I have received plenty of IGMs concerning the truth. So, please point newbies here or share this with anyone who seems confused.

Bear in mind that there is a player-made "10 square rule" that, essentially, says that you should not come within 10 squares of another player for any reason or risk death and destruction, etc. If an individual player has made up a rule, that's fine. It might be in a new player's best interest to contact other players before coming near... but I will leave that up to the players involved.


1) You cannot settle on, teleport to, or exodus to a square that is a Sovereign square of another player.

2) Cities are prevented from teleporting or exodusing to within 10 squares of another city, unless 

2a) that city is yours, 
2b) in the same alliance or a confederated alliance; 
2c) or you have Sovereignty V on that square. (for exodus only)

This applies when the move starts, not when it ends; so two developed cities can exodus next door to each other.

3) Cities can SETTLE within 10 square of another player's city; unless that square is a Sovereign square.

4) You cannot settle, teleport, exodus to squares with no food, water squares, NPC squares, mystery squares or trade hubs, etc:  http://forum.illyriad.co.uk/8-moving-your-capital-city_topic1306.html" rel="nofollow - http://forum.illyriad.co.uk/8-moving-your-capital-city_topic1306.html

Thanks! Ask any questions about this in this thread!

GM Rikoo

EDIT: Added the bit about exodus-only exception for sov 5. (sc)




-------------
Illyriad Community Manager / Public Relations / community@illyriad.co.uk



Replies:
Posted By: Rill
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2015 at 19:25
You can't teleport (Tenaril) to a square on which you have Sov V.  The Sov V exception only applies to Exodus.

Not sure that the reference to NPC squares makes sense since the introduction of NPC movement.  I would suggest it's more accurate to say that you cannot move, settle, etc. on "resource spawn squares," that is, places where basic resources and gold may spawn.

You also cannot settle or move to any impassable square (volcanoes etc.)

The player-made 10-square convention (a better term than a rule) suggests that it is a wise idea to ask before settling or moving a city within 10 squares of an existing city.  In many cases the other player will gladly assent to the location as long as there is room for growth for both cities.  In other cases the other player will deny the request.  Whether players choose to abide by this convention and the consequences for not doing so are dependent on the actions of other players.




Posted By: Rill
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2015 at 19:31
This is an example of one of the many other forum discussions of the 10-square convention.  It is worth noting that this player, who questioned the convention, later had many cities sieged and razed after encouraging his alliance mates to ignore the convention.  I mention this not to support that action in any way, but rather, since this thread is intended to educate new players about this convention, to illustrate some in-game history relevant to the discussion.

As can be seen in this thread, this convention has a long history, and there are many opinions about it.

http://forum.illyriad.co.uk/the-10square-myth_topic5529.html" rel="nofollow - http://forum.illyriad.co.uk/the-10square-myth_topic5529.html


Posted By: abstractdream
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2015 at 19:48
Thanks for this thread, Rikoo and thanks for the clarification and the link to a relevant thread, Rill. Also, I quit like the verbiage "10 Square Convention" over the currently more used phrase. It puts the definition in the title.

-------------
Bonfyr Verboo


Posted By: GM Rikoo
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2015 at 23:00
Awesome, thanks for any corrections! We forgot to specify. 

Any other corrections or clarifications need to be made, holla!

Bear in mind this thread is to serve only one purpose: to make sure newbies (or anyone else) knows exactly what the GAME says about 10 squares. Not players.

Rikoo




-------------
Illyriad Community Manager / Public Relations / community@illyriad.co.uk


Posted By: Captain Kindly
Date Posted: 01 Dec 2015 at 20:04
Originally posted by GM Rikoo GM Rikoo wrote:


2) Cities are prevented from teleporting or exodusing to within 10 squares of another city, unless 

2c) or you have Sovereignty V on that square. (for exodus only)

This applies when the move starts, not when it ends; so two developed cities can exodus next door to each other.


Have the developers tested what happens if you try and claim sov on a square where another player is already exodusing to? Is the same check being performed?

Note that it is highly probable that this is not the same situation as when exodusing to the same spot another player goes to, or trying to tenaril to a spot where a player is moving to.


Posted By: GM Rikoo
Date Posted: 01 Dec 2015 at 20:20
Dunno, CK. I'll have to ask. 

Rikoo




-------------
Illyriad Community Manager / Public Relations / community@illyriad.co.uk


Posted By: Lord Stanley
Date Posted: 02 Dec 2015 at 02:31
GM Rikoo,
For the sake of completeness for the newbies, you 4th point above is not a complete list of non settleable squares. GM Stormcrow put a complete list here in the help forum here.
http://forum.illyriad.co.uk/8-moving-your-capital-city_topic1306.html" rel="nofollow - http://forum.illyriad.co.uk/8-moving-your-capital-city_topic1306.html

Best,
Lord Stanley


Posted By: GM Rikoo
Date Posted: 02 Dec 2015 at 14:35
Originally posted by Lord Stanley Lord Stanley wrote:

GM Rikoo,
For the sake of completeness for the newbies, you 4th point above is not a complete list of non settleable squares. GM Stormcrow put a complete list here in the help forum here.
http://forum.illyriad.co.uk/8-moving-your-capital-city_topic1306.html" rel="nofollow - http://forum.illyriad.co.uk/8-moving-your-capital-city_topic1306.html

Best,
Lord Stanley

Awesome, will update. Thanks!


Rikoo




-------------
Illyriad Community Manager / Public Relations / community@illyriad.co.uk



Print Page | Close Window

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.10 - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2017 Web Wiz Ltd. - https://www.webwiz.net